Sunday Morning Theros

Brian came over Sunday with his new deck to play some Theros.
 
 
I am still running my great Minotaur Rakdos deck, which matched up nicely with his UW Control deck.
 
 
Our first match was the longest game I have ever played–it went like 30 rounds. Neither of us could find a win condition. He removed all my creatures. When I needed to, I was able to get to his planeswalkers [he had THREE in his deck].
 
 
 
He was able to mill me out in the end.
 
 
 
Brian then went 1-2 against Jack’s latest creation which is a very very good deck.
 
We completed our game two in a much more traditional way with me winning after about 8 rounds of fun magic.
 
 
I am very much enjoying my Rakdos deck. I know it needs a lot of work, but even when it looses it still creates some fun moments.
 
We had a lot of rules questions this morning. I am still not sure where the best most official place to go for ruling on this stuff–any suggestions would be awesome. I recently learned from the Magic the Amateuring cast that I am a level zero judge which does give me a lot more confidence on this stuff.
 
In any event, here are the questions we had:
 
 
  1. Do Guild Gates have summoning sickness?


    We ruled that the do not.
  2. What happens if you Time Ebb at token–does the token go on the top of your deck or back into your token pile?

    In this case, Brian cast Time Ebb on my 2/2 Zombie token.

    It was late in the game, we had tons of mana, and it was the only creature on the board.

    We ruled it was simply discarded.

  3. Is a Planeswalker a creature?

    we ruled she was not a creature.

  4. When does a Planeswalker pump?
    Whenever she wants to? Ba-Dum-DUM!

    We ruled during main & main phase [again]. 

  5. Does essence scatter work on a God? Jack cast Nylea, God of the Hunt

    Brian responded with an Essence Scatter counter,

    since Jack’s devotion to green was less than 5, Nylea was not a creature; however, the card has Creature as a type.

    We ruled Essence Scatter did not work. 

  6. When does an Enchantment Creature become a Creature?  Brian case Sea God’s Revenge

    on my Kragma Warcaller

    with Nighthowler equipped as an aura.

    Does the Nighthowler drop as a creature which can be targeted for removal and thus be counted as part of Sea God’s Revenge?

    We ruled that the Nighthowler was not a legal target when the sorcery was cast & thus was not removed.

Please leave a comment correct & clarifying any of these rules questions.
 
 
 
 

Comments

Leave a comment