Theros, Two Headed Giant, and Cassidy’s First Match

 South Lake Middle School has a late start on Tuesdays which Jack thought would be a fine time to play some Magic: The Gathering with his friends.
I love this idea because it is a good way for the boys to meet before school, gives working parents a place to drop their kids before school that is fun & educational, and crates a wonderful weekly game day in our house. Also Lisa makes muffins for the boys which is a win/win for me!
I did not do a very good job recording the event–most of these shots were taken after the boys had left.

There were some very close games played–Alexander brought his constructed deck from Theros Prerelease which lost to Jack’s Theros deck. Alexander wanted to work on some deck building, but we did not have much time.

 I then played my Theros Prerelease Deck in a great game against Alexander while Jack played Cassidy [who was using my Sliver deck]. I had to scoop because we were running out of time & Jack wanted to play Two Headed Giant.

Cassidy and I were likely going to win the THG match, but we ran out of time–the kids had to go to school.
As a first time event, this was awesome & hopefully we will be doing it more in the future.
We did have some rules questions come up.
1. Someone exiles a Crackling Triton with an instant.
 


Can the Crackling Tritons “Sacrifice Crackling Triton: Crackling Triton deals 2 damage to target creature or player” be activated before he goes to exile?

We ruled that it cannot.

2. You summon an enchantment that has a ‘when it enters, scry one’, but the other player responds to the casting with a dispel target enchantment counter spell. Can you still Scry?
We ruled that you cannot.

3. Does a bestowed Celestial Archon become a Creature if the Destroyed?
For example, Jack had a Returned Phalanx

which he Bestowed with a Celestial Archon.

Alexander responded with a Ray of Dissolution.


The Ray has “Destroy target enchantment. You gain 3 life.” The question is does the Celestial Archon drop as a creature or does it go directly to the Graveyard?

We ruled that it does becomes a creature.

Comments

Leave a comment